English Language Arts/Literacy

Picture representing English Language Arts / Literacy

Beaufort County School District is committed to providing an effective literacy program so that all students become literate across all content areas. Students must be able to read fluently, analyze and use information. They must learn to communicate, create, collaborate, and critically think to possess the understanding, skills, and dispositions needed for successful entry into college, career or military service

The goal of the Beaufort County School District Literacy Plan is to raise student literacy achievement (language, writing, reading, listening and speaking) across content areas with the following three objectives:

  • Implement research-based instructional practices delivered in tiered leveled, literacy-rich environments that include real-world student experiences.
  • Provide high quality professional development for educators to ensure all students have access to teachers who are prepared to teach to the levels of rigor required by South Carolina Standards.
  • Foster partnerships with stakeholders to promote 21st century literacy in all classrooms

It is my pleasure to serve as the PK-12 Director of Literacy.  Please don’t hesitate to email me, Melissa Murray, Director of Literacy, or call (843) 322-5406, with questions or concerns.

2019-20 BCSD Literacy Plan


Sheryl Mack
Beaufort Elementary

Jenny Richardson
Bluffton Elementary

Geneva Young
Broad River Elementary

Norma Evans
Coosa Elementary

Melanie Hooper
Joseph S. Shanklin Elementary

Kaitlin Murray
H.E. McCracken Middle

Barbara Tedford
Hilton Head Island Early Childhood 

Anjanette Olander
Hilton Head Island Elementary

Cora Lugo
Hilton Head Island School for the
Creative Arts

Marsha White
Lady’s Island Elementary

Linda Burton
M.C. Riley Elementary

Rebecca Kirkpatrick
Mossy Oaks Elementary

Laura Phillips
Okatie Elementary

Susan Seckinger
Port Royal Elementary

Michelle Parisi
Pritchardville Elementary

Kelly Wersler
Red Cedar Elementary

Connie Poulin
Robert Smalls International Academy

Latasha President
St. Helena Elementary

Lana Bates
Whale Branch Elementary

Amelie Cromer
Beaufort Middle School

Christina Peth
Bluffton Middle

Angela Bellantone
Hilton Head Island Middle School

Ashton Padgett
H.E. McCracken Middle School

Lyn Dennis
Lady’s Island Middle School

Juliana Smyth
Robert Smalls International Academy

To Be Determined
Whale Branch Middle School