1,300 seniors will receive their diplomas over the next week

Class of 2019 graduation ceremonies begin tonight
Posted on 05/31/2019
Graduates walking across the football field

Friday, May 31, 2019

High school graduation ceremonies begin
tonight to celebrate the Class of 2019

BEAUFORT – More than 1,300 seniors in the Beaufort County School District’s Class of 2019 will receive their diplomas in graduation ceremonies that begin tonight and run through next Thursday.

“These graduation ceremonies are significant mileposts in the lives of our students, and they’re also cause for celebration for the families and educators who helped make this day possible,” said Board of Education Chair Christina Gwozdz.  “The Class of 2019 has a bright future ahead, and we wish all of our graduates the very best.”

Seniors will receive their diplomas during graduation ceremonies that kick off tonight, beginning with Bluffton High.  With one exception, graduation ceremonies will begin at 7 p.m. in each school’s football stadium unless weather moves them indoors.  The exception is Battery Creek, which will hold its ceremony at 10 a.m. Saturday:

  • Friday, May 31 – Bluffton High

  • Saturday, June 1 – Battery Creek High

  • Monday, June 3 – Beaufort High

  • Tuesday, June 4 – May River High

  • Wednesday, June 5 – Whale Branch Early College High

  • Thursday, June 6 – Hilton Head Island High

This year’s valedictorians and salutatorians are:

  • Battery Creek High – The class valedictorian is Brandon Benke, and the salutatorian is Gabriella Morales.

  • Beaufort High – The class valedictorian is Kidron Grace Martin, and the salutatorian is Samuel Orion Stewart.

  • Bluffton High – The class valedictorian is Elaine Guo, and the salutatorian is Perla Jimenez.

  • Hilton Head Island High – The class valedictorian is Meaghan Lyons, and the salutatorian is Elizabeth Jordan.

  • May River High School – The class valedictorian is Faith Shupard, and the salutatorian is A’Nya Marshburn-Foushee.

  • Whale Branch Early College High School – The class valedictorian is Allie Ann Rodgers, and the salutatorian is Jaren Anthony Ilgan Cantorna.