BCSD students recognized for their diplomacy skills at mock conference

2019 Model UN Conference
Posted on 02/13/2019
Student attending a Model United Nations Conference

Wednesday, February 13, 2019

Students from four district high schools earn
statewide honors at Model UN Conference

BEAUFORT – Students from four district high schools have been recognized for their performance at the Model United Nations Conference held at Georgia Southern University.

Model UN is an educational simulation where students learn about diplomacy and international relations by “representing” countries from around the world in mock diplomacy exercises.  Students learn about current world issues, brush up on their speaking, debating and writing skills and also improve their critical thinking, teamwork and leadership abilities. 

Students recognized for their work were:

Hilton Head Island High

  • Honorable Mention for Outstanding School Delegation
  • Honorable Mention (General Assembly) – Fiji: Tommy Garino, Logan Bedenbaugh
  • Honorable Mention (Human Rights) – Mongolia: Haleigh Gartner
  • Honorable Mention (Operation for Islamic Cooperation) – Uzbekistan: Tommy Hughson
  • Distinguished Recognition (General Assembly) – USA: Pierce Daly, Sarah Glenn
  • Distinguished Recognition (Security Council) – USA: Zach Waters
  • Distinguished Recognition (African Union) – Tunisia - Hayden Bird

Bluffton High

  • Honorable Mention (General Assembly and Organization of Islamic Countries) – Bangladesh: Nathan Lessard, Nick Orlando, Jake Bierman
  • Honorable Mention (Human Rights Council and Distinguished Delegation in the General Assembly) – United Kingdom: Trevor Rizzo, Elaine Guo, Rachel Riley
  • Honorable Mention (General Assembly) – Chile: Dani Campos, Katherine Anderson
  • Honorable Mention (Organization of Islamic Countries) – Guyana: Jack Roberts

Beaufort High

  • Honorable Mention (General Assembly) – Canada: Avery Thomas
  • Distinguished Recognition (General Assembly) – Palestine: Helene Marshall, Logan Shissias

May River High

  • Honorable Mention (General Assembly) – Bolivia: Joy Schleicher, Jackson Buick

Faculty advisors for the four school delegations were Jonathan Miller (Beaufort High); Erin Reichert (Bluffton High); Mary Schramm (Hilton Head Island High); and Nathan Campbell (May River High).