Kari is a kindergarten assistant at Okatie Elementary

Kari Dollar named BCSD Support Person of the Year
Posted on 05/28/2019
Kari Dollar, 2019 BCSD Support Person of the Year

Friday, May 24, 2019

Kindergarten assistant honored as schooldistrict’s 2019 Support Person of the Year

BEAUFORT – An Okatie Elementary School kindergarten assistant was named today as the Beaufort County School District’s 2019 Support Person of the Year.  The selection of Kari Dollar was announced at a breakfast recognizing schools’ individual honorees.

Dollar is completing her second year as a kindergarten assistant at Okatie Elementary, where she helps students with their math, reading and writing skills, helps with overall classroom management and works behind the scenes to help keep the school running smoothly.

“Kari is a very genuine and dedicated person,” said Okatie Elementary Principal Jamie Pinckney.  “She’s kind, patient, generous, smart and organized, and nobody is going to out-work her.”

Dollar said she was surprised and excited by today’s announcement.

“What an honor to be chosen to represent support staff across our entire district,” Dollar said.  “We’re blessed with lots of wonderful employees who also deserve this recognition.  This is a great place to be.”

In addition to her regular job responsibilities, Dollar stays active in church activities and animal welfare efforts.  She has a bachelor’s degree in animal nutrition.

Pinckney said Dollar was active in Okatie Elementary’s PTO and School Improvement Council when her two children were students there, and now that her children attend May River High, she is active in that school’s PTO and SIC.

Interim Superintendent Herb Berg said Dollar would be an excellent representative for the school district’s diverse array of support staff, which can include teaching assistants, social workers, school nurses, bookkeepers, office managers, media specialists, school secretaries and technology and data specialists. 

“No school can be successful without a strong support staff,” Berg said.  “What they do each and every day makes it possible for teachers and students to succeed in the classroom.”

Dollar was awarded a $250 gas card from Parker’s, which sponsored today’s breakfast.  Parker’s operates 57 convenience stores across South Carolina and Georgia.  Parker’s funded the event through its “Fueling the Community” program, which gives one cent of every gallon of gas sold on the first Wednesday of each month to local schools.

“Parker’s is excited to sponsor this year’s Support Person of the Year awards breakfast,” said President and CEO Greg Parker.  “A big part of our company’s ongoing commitment to education is recognizing that it takes teamwork to make a school successful.  Congratulations to Ms. Dollar and to all of this year’s support staff honorees!”

2019-20 School Support Staff of the Year

Battery Creek High – Barbara Layman
Beaufort Elementary – Sharlene Washington-Robinson
Beaufort High – Melissa Lather
Beaufort Middle – Cynthia Ytuarte
Beaufort-Jasper ACE – Antoinette Heyward
Bluffton Elementary, ECC – Nancy Toggweiler
Bluffton High – Bryant Kitty
Bluffton Middle – Monica Prieto
Broad River Elementary – Austin Major
Coosa Elementary – Tammi Ivey
H. E. McCracken Middle – David Welch
Hilton Head ECC – Caroline Wallin
Hilton Head Island Elementary – Michele Dewan
Hilton Head Island Creative Arts, Daufuskie Island – Katherine Todd
Hilton Head Island High – Diana Santos-Lopez
Hilton Head Island Middle – Cathy Woloszyk
Joseph Shanklin Elementary – Whitney Watson
Lady’s Island Elementary – Julie Riddle
Lady’s Island Middle – Haleem Barnes
May River High School – Kristy Campbell
M. C. Riley Elementary/ECC – Ana Burkart
Mossy Oaks Elementary – Sherry Heyward
Okatie Elementary – Kari Dollar
Port Royal Elementary – Brooke Sanders
Pritchardville Elementary – Laura Dimaria
Red Cedar Elementary – Jennifer Krieger
Right Choices – Alexander McBride
River Ridge Academy – Ashley Herrington
Robert Smalls International Academy – Mindy Brown
St. Helena Elementary, ELC – Nicole Smalls
Whale Branch Early College High – Malicia Alston
Whale Branch El., Davis ECC – Angela White
Whale Branch Middle – Mary Singleton
Adult Education – Willie Mae Lewis
Transportation – Jerry Green
District Office – Domnique Degraffenried