Selected by their peers, teachers and support staff must meet specific benchmarks

2019-20 BCSD Teachers and Support Staff of the Year
Posted on 05/03/2019
BCHS Teacher of the Year

Friday, May 3, 2019

School district’s 2019 teachers, support staff
of the year surprised by visits, announcements

BEAUFORT – Some very special Beaufort County School District teachers and support staff were surprised today with flowers, pep rallies, and breakfasts as Board of Education members made surprise visits to announce 2019-2020 Teachers of the Year and Support Staff of the Year.

Teachers of the Year are selected by their peers according to criteria established by the schools, the South Carolina Department of Education and the district’s Teacher Forum.  Teachers honored today will be eligible for District Teacher of the Year honors next fall.

Support staff honorees are selected by school staff and can include social workers, school nurses, bookkeepers, office managers, teacher assistants, school secretaries and technology and data specialists.  Staff honored today will be eligible for District Support Staff Person of the Year.

“We have so many strong teachers and support staff,” said Board of Education Chair Christina Gwozdz, “and this is a day when we recognize a group of them to represent all of our outstanding professionals. The fact that they were selected through a process that involved their peers makes their recognitions even more significant."

The 2019-2020 Beaufort County Teachers of the Year and Support Staff of the Year announced today were:

Battery Creek High Beth Ann Melton Barbara Layman
Beaufort Elementary Christene Johnson-Holmes Sharlene Washington-Robinson
Beaufort High Wendy Lacombe Melissa Lather
Beaufort Middle Rhonda McCauley Cynthia Ytyarte
Beaufort-Jasper ACE Raquel Bryan Antoinette Heyward
Bluffton Elementary, ECC Rachel Gauvreau Nancy Toggweiler
Bluffton High Michelle Gordon Kitty Bryant
Bluffton Middle Donna Floyd Monica Prieto
Broad River Elementary Arriel Young Austin Major
Coosa Elementary Cynthia Jeffrey Tammi Ivey
H. E. McCracken Middle Emily Rietveld David Welch
Hilton Head ECC Kimberly Bambeck Caroline Wallin
Hilton Head Elementary (IB) Denise Bell Michele Dewan
Hilton Head Island Creative Arts, Daufuskie Island Lyn Raichle Katherine Todd
Hilton Head Island High Josh Wall Diana Santos-Lopez
Hilton Head Island Middle DeAnna Campbell- Holmes Cathy Woloszyk
Joseph Shanklin Elementary Keisha Miller Whitney Watson
Lady’s Island Elementary Kwame Thornton Julie Riddle
Lady’s Island Middle Vicki Shockley Haleem Barnes
May River High School Julie Collins Kristy Campbell
M. C. Riley Elementary/ECC Deborah Hammett Ani Burkart
Mossy Oaks Elementary Amy Squires Sherry Heyward
Okatie Elementary Amanda Hogshead Kari Dollar
Port Royal Elementary Corey Hollis Charis Sanders
Pritchardville Elementary Deree Ward Laura Dimaria
Red Cedar Elementary Leanne Black Jennifer Kreiger
Right Choices Nancy Wolff Alexander McBride
River Ridge Academy Kim Fields Ashley Herrington
Robert Smalls Intl. Academy Ashley Holland Mindy Brown
St. Helena Elementary, ELC Sharonda Coaxum Nicole Smalls
Whale Branch E.C. High Freda McCanick Malicia Alston
Whale Branch El., Davis ECC Gerald Greene Angela White
Whale Branch Middle Karen Tooman Mary Singleton
Adult Education Jannie Mae Williams Willie Mae Lewis
Transportation Jerry Green
District Office Dominique Degraffenried