Students were recognized at a banquet at River Ridge Academy

2019 Junior Scholars
Posted on 03/22/2019
Gold medals were handed out to each junior scholar

Friday, March 22, 2019

121 district students honored at banquet
as 2019 South Carolina Junior Scholars

BEAUFORT – More than 120 Beaufort County eighth-graders were honored last night for being named Junior Scholars by the South Carolina Department of Education.

The students and their parents were recognized at a Junior Scholars Banquet sponsored by the Beaufort County School District. 

“These students have incredible potential, as their selection as Junior Scholars demonstrates,” said Interim Superintendent Herb Berg.  “Their challenge is to work hard on achieving that potential, and our challenge as educators is to support them on their journey.”

The banquet’s featured speaker was 
Devonta’ “Dee” Delaney, a Whale Branch Early College High School graduate who excelled in academics and sports.  After graduating in the Top 10 of his class at Whale Branch, Delaney accepted a full scholarship at The Citadel, where he graduated with a bachelor’s degree in Business in 2017.  He later attended the University of Miami to pursue a master’s degree in Business.

Delaney was a star cornerback for The Citadel’s football team, and he also started at cornerback for the Miami Hurricanes.  He later played for the NFL’s Jacksonville Jaguars and currently plays for the Miami Dolphins.  After football, he plans to go into the real estate business.

The Junior Scholars Program was developed by the South Carolina Department of Education to identify eighth-graders with exceptional academic talent and to develop strategies for inclusion into special programs.  The program includes a process for screening, identifying and recognizing students with high scholastic achievement and intellectual ability.

Eligible students include those who score 50 or higher on the PSAT (preliminary SAT) in verbal, math, or writing, or those who participated in Duke University's Talent Identification Program (TIP) during their seventh-grade years.

Students who qualify as Junior Scholars receive an award of merit from the South Carolina Department of Education as well as information regarding summer academic experiences sponsored by South Carolina colleges and universities.  They can use that special recognition to bolster their applications to colleges and universities.


Beaufort Middle School Lauren Myers
Suzie Nelson
Andrew Landis
Susan Livesay
Megan Alvarez
Emily Bennett
Gaea Adams
Michael Appenelli
Samantha Bailey
Benjamin Banks
Lyndsay Borja
Addison Clint
Hunter Cofall
Brayan De Leon Garcia
Jack Dewey
Mark Frazer
Madison Hebert
Lucy Jackson
Rosario Macias
Erin Parker
Nathanael Rios
Angeles Santos Martinez
Brooks Van Esselstyn
H. E. McCracken Middle School Elise Augustyniewicz
Ashlyn Babkiewicz
Caleb Batten
Angelina Blankenship
Avery Chen
Grace Cherewko
Tilden Dougherty
Trisha Duong
Chloe Fry
Simon Griswold
William Hanley
Ailey Hawkins
Saul Huizar Ornelas
Vivian Lalima
Evan Lessard
Valerie Lopez Guerra
Cameron Martin
Laura Middleton
Estefany Mondragon
Zareta Newby
Nicole Oberti
Faith Paxton
Aidan Pena
Delaney Powell
Parker Ray
Meghan Sandman
Mason Singletary
April Stone
Trisha Tran
Masani Ward
Hilton Head Island Middle School Nathan Bowen
Allison Bracken
Braiden Brooks
Jake Cauller
William Fielding
Thomas Finn
Connor Flood
Madison Fly
Jordan Gentemann
Noah Gorrell
Alexandra Hall
Laurel Hawkins
Kristina Heskett
Matthew Korneluk
Logan Kriney
Benjamin Lewis
Sawyer McInnes
Elsy Moreno
Matthew Myers
Kyle Parrella
Allison Philpot
Brooks Risher
Kathryn Roberts
Carter Saleeby
Sara Snyder
Coker Spangler
Delcie Swift
Edward Thompson
Kendal Wagner
Landon Wood
Charles Yocum
Lady's Island Middle School Ariana Bax
Paige Bowers
Alexandra Compton
Michael Dennison
Abigail Henry
Riley Kelley
Talan Machan
Jakyree Seabrook-Fripp
McKenzie Thompson
Logan Turner
River Ridge Academy Zakkary Bostick
Spencer Buick
Jacinda Byam
Ivan Chen
Catherine Douthit
Harper Gray
Madison Hahn
Brendan Michael
AnMei Nance
Sarah Nunez
Tyler Peeples
Lucy Peltz
Riverview Charter School Benjamin Christian
Madelyn Confare
Emma Dykeman
Casey Hoogenboom
Tyler McGuire
Chase McKelvey
Walker Smith
Henry Trask
Samuel Trask
Davis Woods
Robert Smalls International Academy Ashton Morgan
Logan Morgan
Alexander Crosson
Sophia Marin
Mehki Smalls